Poop Doodles I

I had the extreme honor of getting to live with three of the best friends I could ever hope to have – Billy, Jamie, and Kari – in 1998-1999. We shared a ramshackle basement apartment on Green Street in Urbana, Illinois, in a place we called “The Daisy House.” This was because someone had painted the house foundation neon green, with white daisies  on top, probably in the 1960s or something. Anyway, it was a craptacular apartment, but we loved it anyways.

I can’t remember whose idea it was to tape up pieces of blank white paper next to the toilet in the bathroom, but it became a pretty regular thing. Everyone gets bored on the toilet, right? Don’t you find yourself coming up with great ideas? We called these the “Poop Doodles,” and I saved a number of them. They’re full of pure nonsense.

Poop Doodles I



6 thoughts on “Poop Doodles I

  1. Oh, how I miss the Daisy house! I actually knew the kids who moved in after you guys right before they tore it down. That place was like a magnet for awesomeness.

  2. ‘a number of them’? jesus, those are fucking genius and make me feel young. remember when gaston saw the shower and freaked waaay out? He did not get the poop doodles at all either. I Should have known then!

    i love you stacey jones. i’m always trying to explain to people what an excellent archivist you are and how lucky kari jones is to have been your pal since i was in pigtails. now, when i refer them here, everyone will immediately understand.

  3. Awww, you’re too much. This is why I save stuff, so I can give people that WARM FUZZY FEELING that comes with remembering. :)

    I think I have at least 2 more of these…maybe more? I’m just scratching the surface of my boxes of papers…
    I do remember Gaston being pretty horrified by our apartment. I mean, it WAS a pretty crappy apartment…but we were broke-ass college kids, and it was like what, $140 a month EACH?? Absurdly cheap. And he was all old and cultured and refined and whatnot…
    Did we ever actually CLEAN that shower? I honestly cannot remember ever doing so. Ewww…

  4. Pingback: Poop Doodles II « neat neat neat

  5. Pingback: Poop Doodles III « neat neat neat

  6. Pingback: The Exquisite Corpse Adventure « neat neat neat

Leave a Reply

