“The Bloody Massacre” [Boston Massacre drawing]

When I was 9 or 10, I was charged with the task of writing an essay and making a drawing for our history unit on the American Revolutionary War. I remember the teacher let us choose the topic, so I went with the Boston Massacre, because I thought it was cool. Why? I’m not sure. I’ve misplaced the report, (I’m sure it was absolutely RIVETING) but I recently found the drawing. I based it off an illustration in my textbook engraved by Paul Revere. I’ll include them both for comparison’s sake:
Original…
Bloody Massacre (Original)

Mine:
Bloody Massacre (mine)

I’ve always been a terrible, terrible artist, but this definitely brings a smile to my face. It was one of those early projects that got me really interested in American history, so I’m glad I kept it all these years.


Leave a Reply

